Evangelical Brotherhood St. George Order

The Evangelical Brotherhood St. George Order (Erfurt) is a Protestant religious community in Germany.

The Brotherhood was founded in 1987 on the Danish island of Falster . Most of the founding members came from the former GDR and had emigrated to the Federal Republic of Germany or come to the Federal Republic in the course of the free trial of political prisoners. Some founding members knew each other from the youth work of the Evangelical Lutheran Church Church Mecklenburg. Motive of religious foundation was the impression of the later members, political speech in the West German church life were “primarily left liberal to radical left connotations.” [1] With the reunification of a realignment of the Order was held, also the Order of the Mecklenburg Hohenkirchen first moved to Berlin and later to Thuringia. Since 2010, the Order is in theGeorgenburse based in Erfurt.

The Brotherhood consists of members in graduated degrees of commitment (Order, Order shield) and a wide circle of friends (guest brothers), who lives throughout Germany. As ecclesiastically legitimated link between the brotherhood and the regional church acts – in the form of the Grand Commander – Oberkirchenrat Thomas A. Seidel . Since December 20, 2010, the Evangelical Brotherhood St. George’s Order has been included in the list of spiritual communities and communities of the Evangelical Church in Germany (EKD). On December 7, 2013, she was approved by the regional church council of the Evangelical Church of Central Germany (EKM) as a recognized religious community. [2] The number of members is given in 2014 with about 20 people.[3]

READ ALSO:  American drone crashed in Afghanistan

In 2002, the first panel discussion (so-called Neudietendorfer Gespräch, since 2007 Erfurt Talk) took place, which from then on framed once or twice a year the intellectual and missionary work of the Order. The work is supplemented by publicly accessible convents and conferences. The state church Mecklenburg (until the move to Thuringia) and the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Thuringia recognized the Order and financially supported it.

The Order also publishes theological and time-political writings. Ideologically, the order is based on Martin Luther , Dietrich Bonhoeffer and Joseph Ratzinger , but at the same time the members form a political spectrum that includes anti-capitalist, but also anti-Marxist to strongly conservative positions. [4] [5] [6] Through its activities, the Order carries the traits of a political think tank rather than a purely religious body. Selected events were supported by the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung . [7]

Order Structure
The order includes

the Grand Commander Thomas A. Seidel , theologian and historian [8]
Chancellor Axel Große , political scientist and educational officer at the Augustinian monastery in Erfurt
the order marshal Heiner Sylvester , director
the Order of St. Thomas Dahnert, director of the memorial library in honor of the victims of communism in Berlin
the First Landkomtur Jürgen K. Hultenreich , publicist
the Spiritual Thomas A. Seidel , Oberkirchenrat of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Thuringia
Regional conventions are led by Axel Große, Heiner Sylvester and Joachim Steinmann . [9]

Other members are / were

Siegmar Faust , writer and publicist [10]
Christian Dietrich , theologian, pastor, State Commissioner for the Stasi Archives in Thuringia [11]
Sverre Schacht , publicist [12] [13] [14]
Dirk Jungnickel , spokesman for the memorial association “17. June 1953 “and director [15]
Reinhard Gnauck , board member of the International Society for Human Rights (IGFM)
Manfred Wegener [16] [9]
Udo Große, teacher [17]

READ ALSO:  How Your Health May Depend On Quantum Physics
Especially for you Alihanrin Alihan!

For those who want to support my project:

Bitcoin: bc1qw94hw46llhmx7gym3vl0evft6sts3g8ktf23ep

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other subscribers

Read also:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


There is no god but Allah(God). Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah(God).